Wendy’s Golden Apple Academy

In August 2004, The Wendy’s Golden Apple Academy was founded under the umbrella of the Escambia County Public Schools Foundation and sponsored through a generous donation from Mr. Roger Webb of the Wendco Corporation.  The Wendy’s Golden Apple Academy is a group of former Escambia County Teachers of the Year that are dedicated to the art of teaching.

The Golden Apple Academy: 

  • Serves as a forum to improve the image of teaching
  • Offers its members opportunities for personal and professional growth
  • Supports the evolution of best practices in teaching
  • Interacts with community and business leaders to make them aware of the relationship between the success of our schools and the economic development and growth of our city and county
  • Provides valuable resources to our educational community
  • Promotes the visibility of excellence in education in Escambia County

Wendy’s Golden Apple Academy 

Escambia County Teachers of the Year

2018 Lacey Brown – Jim Allen Elementary

2017 Kristy Imhof – Ransom Middle

2016  Anna Barry – Northview High

2015  Jana Pavlus – Woodham Middle

2014  Susan Rigby – Pine Forest High

2013  Jeffrey Pribble – Escambia High

2012  Emily McMillian – Ferry Pass Elementary

2011  Michael Varner – Tate High

2010  Amanda Lagergren – Edgewater Elementary

2009  Michelle Lingo – Hallmark Elementary

2008  Anne Roycroft – Warrington Middle

2007  Marilyn Lentine – Hellen Caro Elementary

2006  Shani Clark – Ferry Pass Elementary

2005  Mary DeCosta – Woodham High

2004  Marilyn Roland – Semmes Elementary

2003  Lisa Childs – Pensacola High

2002  Linda Harris – McMillan Center

2001  Michelle Kaczynski – Woodham High

2000  Linda Hartmann – Roy Hyatt Center

1999  Gail Husbands – Ensley Elementary

1998  Pamela Elliott – Cook Elementary

1997  Yelena Banks – Jim Allen Elementary

1996  Ann Copenhaver – Ransom Middle

1995  James Broughton – Washington High

1994  Linda Josey – Molino Elementary

1993  Lynda Shuman – Cordova Park Elementary

1992  Marcia Nowlin – Byrneville Elementary

1991  Donald Johnson – Pine Forest High

1990  Charles Shuler – Escambia High

1989  Ruth Holmes – Jim Allen Elementary

1988  Sue Thomas – Pine Meadow Elementary

1987  Snippie Payton – Longleaf Elementary

1986  Janice Wiggins – Pleasant Grove Elementary

1985 Malcolm Thomas – Tate High

Thanks to Our Partners